They will come

At the start of winter, I decided to hang bird feeders to try to attract bird life to the garden. I got some fat balls and some seed for my seed feeder, and hung them out expectantly. Nothing happened. Day after day, they remained untouched. “They will come”, my Dad said to me, as my aunt had once said to him. “Just wait, and they will come”.

And a week later, they came. In their dozens. Within days it seemed like I was feeding every garden bird in the Tarn-et-Garonne. Word had obviously got around!

Now I find it hard to keep up with demand, especially as peanuts seem quite hard to come by in France. Here are some of my regulars:

Great spotted woodpeckers

DSCN0866DSCN0858DSCN0960

 

Great tits

DSCN0907DSCN0887DSCN0847_1

 

Nuthatches

Nuthatch 1Nuthatch 2

 

Blue tits

Blue tit 1Blue tit 2

 

And the ground feeders:

Chaffinches

DSCN0942DSCN0929

 

Blackbirds

DSCN0939DSCN0983

 

Robins

Robin 2DSCN0905