Orchids

In the last few days of March I noticed the very first Early purple orchids (Orchis mascula) poking through in the roadside verges, adding a bright splash of colour. Now I’m seeing more and more of them – mostly in ones and twos, although sometimes they grow in sparse patches. The largest I have seen has been about 30 cm tall, although I gather they can grow up to 60 cm.

20170406_093138-1

Early purple orchid

The flowers are stunning close up, as is the colour:

Early purple orchid

Close up of Early purple orchid

Today, as a cycled along, I also spotted what I think I have identified as a Lady orchid (Orchis purpurea), growing on a very steep bank beside the road, which made photographing it a bit difficult.

Lady orchid

Lady orchid

Leave a Reply

